dressmaking

My Vintage Pledge

Hello and Happy Friday!

One of the best things about setting up my blog and Instagram account is discovering the online sewing community. It’s so inspiring to see what everyone has been making and their takes on the patterns I have in my stash.

Finding out about all the campaigns, competitions and group projects is another bonus. This month, I am taking part in my first Me Made May and will post a roundup of my outfits at the end of the month. Today, however, I want to talk about my plans for The Vintage Pledge. For those who don’t know about this, it’s the creation of Marie of A Stitching Odyssey. Marie found she was acquiring vintage sewing patterns faster than she could sew them so she made a pledge a certain number of these garments in one year. Lots of other sewists followed suite and it’s now an annual event with hundreds of people taking part.

So what is my vintage pledge?

Well, this year I pledge to make four garments using patterns from my two favourite eras – the 1950s and 1960s. I have a few patterns and fabrics in mind but the one I am the most excited about is this 1960s shirt dress by Simplicity.

IMG_3485

I absolutely love this dress. I plan to make version two first and have bought a beautiful rose print cotton from The Little Fabric Shop. I really like the fact it has a black background so I can wear the dress with black tights on chillier days.

IMG_0279

If it turns out okay I might also enter this make in another competition I heard about the other day, ย Sewย Together For Summer. This was set up by Sew Sarah Smith, Rocco Sienna and Sewing in Spain to encourage sewists to make the same item of clothing and share their creations on social media. This summer is the summer of the shirtdress ๐Ÿ™‚

I am so excited to see how this pattern turns out. I will certainly be making a practice version in a cheap fabric before I cut into my lovely fabric. Later this year I may make the version with the long sleeves in a brushed cotton for a cosy winter dress.

The second pattern I plan to put to use again this year is this 1958 multi-garment pattern by McCalls. I’ve used this pattern a couple of times now and used the bodice pieces for my last make, The Fashionably Late Dress.

IMG_0271

I would quite like to make a top this time, perhaps with long sleeves and a peplum bottom. My Aunty Adele kindly gave me some fabric recently including an old dress, which had already been cut into pieces. I am not always very good at identifying fabrics but I think it might be a brushed cotton. It’s soft and warm and will make a nice snug top to pair with jeans in the winter. There are also some nice covered buttons I hope to make use of.

I have not yet decided on my final two vintage pledge items. Like I said earlier, I may make two versions of the shirt dress. I am also considering making the 1963 McCall’s dress below, although I am trying to make mostly day wear this year. I’m also not sure if I have the figure to pull it off version A, which is my favourite.

IMG_0272

Anyway, I will keep you posted and I hope to do individual blog posts on each item. I plan to add to my vintage pattern collection over the next few months so my plans may change. I’m just so excited to be taking part and can’t wait to see what everyone creates.

Thanks so much for reading my blog.

xx

 

 

8 thoughts on “My Vintage Pledge

  1. The shirt dress pattern is adorable and it will look stunning in that floral fabric. I’m looking forward to seeing it when it’s done. I made my first dress from a 1971 vintage pattern recently and now I want to make a whole wardrobe of them – the older patterns seem to have little details that make them stand out a little!

    Have fun with your vintage sewing!

    Like

    1. Hi Katie, I’ve been trying to write a reply on your Knitting is Good for You post but it keeps telling me there is an error. I have some problems with the WordPress app. I just wanted to say you are a wonderful writer and I love what you say about knitting being a way to connect with the past. I look forward to reading more of your posts x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank-you for your lovely comment and for subscribing to my blog, too. I’m sorry you were having trouble commenting and thank-you for letting me know – I’ll fix that up as soon as can be.

        Like

      2. Could you please have another go at commenting? I’ve changed a setting and I’m hoping that will have fixed the problem but I won’t know for sure until someone else tries! Thank-you. ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Like

      3. Hi Katie, I wasn’t able to comment using the app but I could when I viewed the blog as a web page. I think it is probably a problem at my end. I will see if the app needs updating ๐Ÿ™‚ x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

